elnoob.blogg.se

Victor cheng youtube videos
Victor cheng youtube videos








Whilst these are justified as starting points for your exploration in the field, they should not be the main reason for which you apply, as they are quite cliché. You may have some reasons for this–the pay, the fast-paced lifestyle, your intrigue in complex business problems, etc. Whether applying for consulting or investment banking, you’ll need to justify why you’re interested in the sector. Now, let’s explore the specific sections mentioned above. I’ll explain each section in more detail below.įinally, close your letter by thanking the reader for their time, followed by signing off with your name. To save time, change the second section to suit the firm you are applying to. For most letters, consider keeping sections one and three the same. I am applying for the Goldman Sachs 2021 Divisional Spring Internship.”įollowing this, you’ll need to include three sections: why are you interested in this sector, why this firm, and why you.

victor cheng youtube videos

“Hi, my name is Charli D’Amelio, and I am an incoming second year student at UCL studying a BA in Social Media Studies. Occasionally, you may choose to include your university degree, as well as which year you are in.

victor cheng youtube videos

But to start off, you need to structure your letter properly.įor consulting and investment banking, begin your letter with a simple introduction, including the role which you are applying for. Your cover letter has to convince your reader that you are interested in the field you are applying for, as well as the firm. In this article, I hope to dispel some of the uncertainties surrounding what makes a successful cover letter, as well as where to start. However, cover letters do not have to be difficult. Many of us have found ourselves in this position.

#Victor cheng youtube videos professional

But how do I articulate this in a professional manner? I have my CV, and I have some gut feeling that applying for this sector is right for me. Come to think of it, I’ve never even read one. The problem is, I’ve never written a cover letter before. After a cup of tea, I’ve decided to start a cover letter for a prestigious firm in London. If that’s all you ever do for the rest of your life, you will be ahead of 95% to 99% of the rest of the world.It’s 11:14–it’s dark outside, and my university work is somewhat done for the day. Many remember the first-order principle that “case interview = client engagement simulation,” and they either remember or figure out the rest on their own.įirst-order principles exist in satisfying marriages.įirst-order principles exist in raising children.įirst-order principles exist in managing your career.įirst-order principles exist in… everything you ever want to do effectively.Ģ) Find a person who knows those first-order principles.ģ) Learn those principles from that person. Many of my students forget the hundreds of little details that I and others teach about the case. It’s a simulation of a consultant-client interaction. The interview is not a torture device for candidates. When I teach the case interview, one of the main ideas I teach is to treat the interviewer like a client. When you remember first-order principles, you can usually figure out the rest with a combination of logic and common sense. When politicians 2,500 years in the future speak to influence others, the effective ones will also know their audience. When politicians spoke to influence others 2,500 years ago, the effective ones knew their audience and what it took to persuade them.

victor cheng youtube videos

When I used to speak to my kids’ classmates in preschool, I would speak to them differently than I did CEOs. When I speak to CEOs, I speak a certain way given what I know about them. Today, to be an effective public speaker, you must still: While the tools, technologies, and tactics for public speaking have changed enormously, the first-order principle has not. Today, public speaking can involve a YouTube channel, a podcast, Instagram, or TikTok videos. Nobody had HDMI monitors in their conference rooms. Projectors for laptops weren’t used either. Laptop computers were not widely used (too expensive and bulky to be practical). That’s a first-order principle, as it has been true for all time and will continue to be true for all time.Īt that time, public speaking involved giving lectures where your visual aids were plastic transparencies on an overhead projector. The single most important thing I remember from that class was: When I look back over that time, the parts that I have valued the most are things I call “first-order principles.”Ī principle is a rule of thumb that’s timeless in nature.įor example, I took a public speaking class at Stanford when I was 19 years old. This work included learning an endless list of strategies, tactics, and skills. Over the arc of my career, I’ve done extensive work in professional development.








Victor cheng youtube videos